Wildwasser Eldo XT sprayskirt review

So I was tired of getting water in my Jackson Villain – I mean, what’s the point of having a boat without holes if water comes in through the skirt. I was looking for a rubber rand – bungie skirts just never seem to be able to seal tight enough to lock out all the water. I have a trusty old Mt. Surf but it’s old and holey, and too small to get on my boat without some serious effort and the all embarrassing ‘asking for help’. Though I did love how its lip locked into place and made you confident the skirt wasn’t coming off without a similar amount of effort. I could get a new Mt. Surf the proper size but honestly the company has had some production issues and I didn’t feel like waiting.

On the recommendation of a friend I checked out the Wildwasser Eldo XT. It certainly had all the right features: rubber rand, aramid (kevlar) deck reinforcement, and even a removable implosion bar. It goes on easier than my Mt. Surf and it takes a little care to get the flat rand to sit properly. But once set it is bone dry – the main thing you want out of a spraydeck. And with it’s grippy seal and the implosion bar in I have full confidence that this thing is never going to implode (at least I don’t run anything tall enough to make that happen). It really is the perfect skirt that has exactly what I wanted and it’s not often you find something the fits the bill so precisely.

This entry was posted in Gear Reviews, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wildwasser Eldo XT sprayskirt review

  1. Pingback: Liquid Logic Stomper mini-review | calkayak

Leave a Reply

